UNCF to Participate in HBCU STEAM Day and Award CBC with Prestigious Patterson Award During 75th Anniversary Celebration

Media Contact

Monique LeNoir UNCF Communications 202.810.0231 monique.lenoir@uncf.org

Today, UNCF will participate in the second annual Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) STEAM Day, hosted by the Bipartisan HBCU Caucus and hold its premier gala event to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the organization. The HBCU STEAM Day will allow UNCF-member HBCU presidents to participate in the following congressional meetings with members of Congress.

  • Senate Appropriations Agriculture Subcommittee Ranking Member Jeff Merkley
  • House Appropriations Committee Subcommittee Chairman Sanford Bishop
  • Senate HELP Committee Chairman Lamar Alexander
  • Senator Cory Booker
  • House Appropriations Committee Chairwoman Nita Lowey
  • Senate HELP Committee Ranking Member Patty Murray
  • House Education and Labor Committee Chairman Bobby Scott
  • Majority Whip James Clyburn
  • Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) Chair Karen Bass
  • House Homeland Security Committee Chairman Bennie Thompson
  • Representative Marcia Fudge
  • Representative Terri Sewell
  • House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Frank Pallone
  • Financial Services Committee’s Diversity and Inclusion Subcommittee Chairwoman Joyce Beatty

Every year UNCF recognizes individuals who have contributed significantly to opening the doors to college for low-income, first-generation students and other underrepresented youth with the Frederick Douglass Patterson Award. This award serves as UNCF’s most prestigious award and we are proud to honor the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) with this special recognition.

“The CBC has been a strong advocate for expanding educational opportunity for African American students,” said Dr. Michael L. Lomax, president and CEO at UNCF. “Through scholarships, fellowships, and internships, the CBC Foundation is helping to develop future generations of African American leaders, and we are stronger because of their efforts. UNCF shares their aspirations for America’s youth, and we are proud to call the CBC a partner in the fight for educational access and opportunity.”

“UNCF is proud to award the CBC with the Fredrick Douglass Patterson Award, our highest honor,” said Lodriguez Murray, vice president of public policy and government affairs for UNCF. “We are also very excited to have our HBCU presidents advocating on behalf of their institutions and students today on Capitol Hill. It is when lawmakers are able to sit down face-to-face with our presidents that they truly begin to understand the true needs of our historic institutions and their students.”

The CBC consists of the following members of Congress:

  • Rep. Karen Bass (D-CA) – Chair
  • Rep. John Lewis (D-GA)
  • Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)
  • Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA)
  • Rep. Sanford D. Bishop (D-GA)
  • Rep. James E. Clyburn (D-SC)
  • Rep. Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL)
  • Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
  • Rep. Bobby L. Rush (D-IL)
  • Rep. Bobby Scott (D-VA)
  • Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-MS)
  • Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-TX)
  • Rep. Elijah E. Cummings (D-MD)
  • Rep. Danny K. Davis (D-IL)
  • Rep. Gregory W. Meeks (D-NY)
  • Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA)
  • Rep. WM. Lacy Clay, Jr. (D-MO)
  • Rep. David Scott (D-GA)
  • Rep. G.K. Butterfield (D-NC)
  • Rep. Emanuel Cleaver, II (D-MO)
  • Rep. Al Green (D-TX)
  • Rep. Gwen Moore (D-WI)
  • Rep. Yvette D. Clarke (D-NY)
  • Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA)
  • Rep. André Carson (D-IN)
  • Rep. Marcia L. Fudge (D-OH)
  • Rep. Cedric L. Richmond (D-LA)
  • Rep. Terri Sewell (D-AL)
  • Rep. Frederica S. Wilson (D-FL)
  • Rep. Donald M. Payne, Jr. (D-NJ)
  • Rep. Joyce Beatty (D-OH)
  • Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY)
  • Rep. Marc Veasey (D-TX)
  • Rep. Robin Kelly (D-IL)
  • Sen. Cory Booker (D-NJ)
  • Rep. Alma Adams (D-NC)
  • Rep. Brenda Lawrence (D-MI)
  • Del. Stacey Plaskett (D-VI)
  • Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ)
  • Rep. Dwight Evans (D-PA)
  • Sen. Kamala D. Harris (D-CA)
  • Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-DE)
  • Rep. Anthony Brown (D-MD)
  • Rep. Val Butler Demings (D-FL)
  • Rep. Al Lawson (D-FL)
  • Rep. A. Donald McEachin (D-VA)
  • Rep. Steven Horsford (D-NV)
  • Rep. Colin Allred (D-TX)
  • Rep. Antonio Delgado (D-NY)
  • Rep. Jahana Hayes (D-CT)
  • Rep. Lucy McBath (D-GA)
  • Rep. Joe Neguse (D-CO)
  • Rep. Ilhan Omar (D-MN)
  • Rep. Ayanna Pressley (D-MA)
  • Rep. Lauren Underwood (D-IL)


About UNCF
UNCF (United Negro College Fund) is the nation’s largest and most effective minority education organization. To serve youth, the community and the nation, UNCF supports students’ education and development through scholarships and other programs, strengthens its 37 member colleges and universities, and advocates for the importance of minority education and college readiness. UNCF institutions and other historically black colleges and universities are highly effective, awarding nearly 20 percent of African American baccalaureate degrees. UNCF awards more than $100 million in scholarships annually and administers more than 400 programs, including scholarship, internship and fellowship, mentoring, summer enrichment, and curriculum and faculty development programs. Its logo features the UNCF torch of leadership in education and its widely recognized motto, “A mind is a terrible thing to waste.”® Today, UNCF supports more than 60,000 students at more than 1,100 colleges and universities. Learn more at UNCF.org or for continuous news and updates, follow UNCF on Twitter @UNCF.