Notable UNCF-Member Alumni

Allen University
Mary Lee Alexander – Johnson:  Educator
Honorable Joe Ellis Brown: Retired State House of Representative, South Carolina

Benedict College 
Dr. Leroy T. Walker: First African American President, U.S. Olympic Committee
Dorothy Buckhanan Wilson: International President, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Bennett College 
Dr. Susie Powell: Emmy Award winning playwright
Jen-ai Pridgeon-Childress: Author of children’s books

Bethune – Cookman University
A. Phillip Randolph: Civil rights activist
Larry Little: Former NFL player for San Diego Chargers and Miami Dolphins

Claflin University   
Ernest A. Finney, Jr.:  First African American to serve as chief justice of the South Carolina Supreme Court
Cecil Williams: Noted photographer, publisher, author and artist

Clark Atlanta University 
James Weldon Johnson: Writer of the Negro National Anthem, “Lift Ev’ry Voice and Sing”
Jacque Reid: Journalist

Dillard University 
Dr. Ruth Simmons: Former President, Brown University and first African American to head an Ivy League university
Ellis M. Marsalis Jr.: World-renowned Jazz Musician

Edward Waters College  
Barbara Lang:  Former President, Washington D.C. Chamber of Commerce
Betty Holzendorf: Former Florida, State Representative

Florida Memorial University  
Norma Ely: , Air Traffic Manager
Simone Fitzcharles:  Lawyer, Partner in the Litigation and Insolvency and Restructuring Groups

Huston-Tillotson University 
Dr. James Harris: Nuclear Chemist
Honorable Azie Taylor Morton: Treasurer of the United States

Fisk University  
U.S. Representative John Lewis (D-GA)
Kim Whitley: Actress
Mandisa: Grammy award winning recording artist

Interdenominational Theological Center
Bishop Charles E. Blake: Presiding Bishop, Church of God in Christ
Dr. Otis Moss, Jr.: Pastor, theologian, author

Jarvis Christian College  
Woody Wilson:  Distinguished celebrity clothing designer
Michelle Stimpson: Author of Boaz Brown, Divas of Damascus Road, The Good Stuff, Trouble in My Way and Breaking Bondage to Biscuits.

Johnson C. Smith University 
Pettis Norman:  Former NFL player
Dr. Bertha Maxwell Roddey: Former educator and former president, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.

Lane College 
Jacoby Jones: NFL player WR Baltimore Ravens
Jesse Tyson: President and CEO,  National Black MBA Association

LeMoyne – Owen College
Marion Barry: Former Mayor of Washington, DC
W.W. Herenton: 1st elected African America Mayor, City of Memphis, TN

Livingstone College
George E. Battle, Jr.: Sr. Bishop AME Zion Church
Elizabeth Duncan Koontz:  First Black President, National Educator Association

Miles College 
Richard Arrington: First African American mayor of Birmingham
U. W. Clemons: Federal Judge

Morehouse College 
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.: Civil rights leader
David Satcher, MD: Former U.S. Surgeon General
Samuel L. Jackson: Actor

Morris College 
Dr. Soloman Jackson: Philanthropist
Honorable J. David Weeks:  South Carolina House of Representative & Attorney

Oakwood University
Little Richard: Singer/composer
Take 6: Acapella vocal group

Paine College
Michael Thurmond: Former State Labor Commissioner
Atty. Robert L. Bell: President of Washington Bar Association

Philander-Smith College 
Jocelyn Elders: Former U.S. Surgeon General
Rodney L. Slater: Former transportation secretary

Rust College 
Ida B. Wells:  Journalist, newspaper editor, early civil rights leader
Anita Ward: Singer, musician noted for “Ring my Bell”

St. Augustine’s University 
Dr. Prezell Robinson: Former President, St. Augustine’s University
Rodrick Miller:  CEO, Detroit Economic Growth Corporation

Shaw University 
Willie Gary: Attorney, activist, philanthropist
Pastor Shirley Caesar:  Pastor and national gospel recording artist.

Spelman College 
Marian Wright Edelman: Founder/President – Children’s  Defense Fund
Rosalind G. Brewer: President and CEO, Sam’s Club
Alia Jones-Harvey: Broadway Producer

Stillman College 
Lt. Gen. Willie Williams (Ret): Three-star General, Marine Corps
Alvin Howard: Senior Vice President, Warner Chilcott

Talladega College
Dr. William R. Harvey: President Hampton University
Eunice W. Johnson: Ebony Magazine and Creator of Ebony Fashion Fair

Texas College
Billye Suber Aaron: Philanthropist

Tougaloo College
The Honorable Bennie Thompson: U.S. Rep. (D-MS)
Geraldine S. Hines: Associate Justice, Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court

Tuskegee University
Frederick D. Patterson: Former President, Tuskegee Institute, founder of UNCF
Lionel Richie: Singer/composer
Tom Joyner: Radio personality, philanthropist
Marilyn Mosby: Baltimore State Attorney

Virginia Union University
Douglas Wilder:First African American Governor of Virginia
Randal Robinson: Author, activist, founder of TransAfrica

Voorhees College
Jackie Dinkins: Former NBA Player, Chicago Bulls
Dr. Jim Reeves: Deputy Chief , US Forest Service

Wilberforce University
Leontyne Price:Internationally acclaimed opera singer
Floyd Flake: Former Congressman and Wilberforce University President

Wiley University 
James Farmer: Civil rights activist, one of the original  “Great Debaters”
Dr. Frederick C. Tillis:  Composer

Xavier University
Alexis Herman: Former U.S. Secretary of Labor
Alvin J. Boutte: CEO, Indecorp – Largest black-owned U.S. financial institution